top of page


The Chakra system for a Reiki practitioner is equivalent to what human anatomy and physiology is for a nurse. It is such a vital part of the art and science of Reiki. Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. It refers to the spinning wheels of energy we house in our physical bodies. The Chakra system is a network of energy channels connecting these wheels of energy, somewhat like an energetic or spiritual nervous system. We have 7 main Chakras in our bodies spanning from the base of the spine to the top of our heads. There are many more smaller Chakras in our bodies and even more outside of our bodies but for now, I’m going to discuss the 7 main ones. These Chakras focus on different areas of our physical bodies as well as different emotional and mental states. Over the next 7 weeks, I will be discussing each one, what they represent, fears and strengths associated with each one and ways to help balance each one.

Week one goes to our Root Chakra:

Our 1st Chakra is the Root Chakra. It’s located at the base of our spine (our coccyx). Physically this Chakra is connected to our spinal column, rectum, colon, kidneys, legs, bones, feet, our adrenal endocrine gland, and our immune system. This Chakra is also the foundation of our emotional and mental health.

This is our Tribal Chakra. It is our connection to our tribal and familial belief systems. It supports our identity and sense of belonging.

Our family unit and early social environment are where our emotional stability originate. Many mental illnesses can start out from dysfunction within our family units. These illnesses can include multiple personalities, obsessive-compulsive disorders (OCD), depression and alcoholism or other destructive health patterns.

Fears associated with the Root Chakra: when this Chakra is unwell, fears of weakness, death, and abandonment may manifest as well as a feeling of not belonging to the material world. You may be able to notice this Chakra being blocked by noticing these emotions in yourself: fearfulness, anxiousness, being unsure, financial instability, being ungrounded, the feeling of spaceyness. An overactive Root Chakra may show itself by the following: greed, a lust for power, aggressiveness, materialism, cynicism, hoarding and sluggishness.

Strengths associated with the Root Chakra: a sense of connectedness to your tribe or family, bonding, feelings of support and loyalty that gives a sense of security and connection to our tribe and the physical world. A balanced Root Chakra will manifest as feelings of safety and security, being centered and grounded, and the feeling of being happy to be alive.

Sacred truth of the Root Chakra: All Is One. We are connected to all other life. To our earth, to the stars above and to all other life. We are one.

How to balance our Root Chakra: the following suggestions are designed to assist you in healing your Root Chakra:

· Crystals: Garnet, ruby, obsidian, red calcite

· Essential oils: myrrh, patchouli, vetiver, sandalwood, black spruce

· Affirmations: I am safe. I am right here right now, I am present moment awareness, I embrace life, I am grounded to earth, my earth body is the temple of my soul, I have the strength of the source, I am the source.

· Yoga pose: Tree pose

· Mantra: LAM

· Foods: Red foods such as strawberries, beets, raspberries, tomatoes, red peppers

· Herbs: Burdock, cloves/clover, dandelion, rosemary, horseradish, hot paprika, chives, cayenne pepper

To use those crystals and essential oils in a safe way, check out my tips here:

Want extra assistance? A Reiki Practitioner (like myself) will be able to channel universal life force healing energies into your energy field to help balance out not only your Root Chakra, but all 7.

Want to do that yourself? A Reiki Master/Teacher (like myself) will be able to teach you this beautiful form of healing and attune you to the energies so that you can balance your own Chakras through self-treatments.

Contact me at for Reiki healing and training

Much Love, Natalie

22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Chakra Series: Chakra #6, The Third Eye

The Third Eye Chakra is located in the centre of the forehead. Physically, this Chakra relates to our brain, the pituitary endocrine gland, eyes, ears, and nose. Emotionally and mentally the Third E

The Chakra Series: Chakra #5: The Throat

The Throat Chakra is located at the throat. Physically, the Throat Chakra is associated with the throat, the thyroid, parathyroid and hypothalamus endocrine glands, trachea, esophagus, our cervical s

The Chakra Series: Chakra #4: The Heart

The Heart Chakra is located at the centre of the chest. Physically, the Heart Chakra is associated with our heart and circulatory system, ribs, breasts, the thymus endocrine gland, lungs, diaphragm,

1 Comment

Aug 21, 2022

Very informative, Natalie! Well done.😘

bottom of page